Author Archives: Cathy

Village School Reunion Sunday 25 June

At St Peter’s church, Horningsea
Horningsea Village School Reunion 2-5pm
If you went to Horningsea School, or just grew up in Horningsea, or had family who did, come and meet up with old friends.
Just fancy a cup of tea and a chat? Just turn up! Allcomers welcome.
Teas served all afternoon.
Event coordinator: Dinah Asplin (nee Bell)

Posted in Community, Horningsea, Social, St. Peter's Church, Village | Comments Off on Village School Reunion Sunday 25 June

Friends of the Church AGM Sunday 11 June

In St Peter’s church, Horningsea
Sunday 11 June at 12 noon
If you love this ancient and beautiful building, please come along to look at how the Friends can support the church with activities and fundraising.

Posted in St. Peter's Church | Comments Off on Friends of the Church AGM Sunday 11 June

Church services for June 2017

At St Peter’s church, Horningsea
Sunday 4 June at 9am: Holy Communion
Sunday 11 June at 11am: Morning Worship
Sunday 18 June at 9am: Holy Communion
Sunday 25 June at 10am: Holy Communion (Joint 3 parishes service) followed by –                               at 12 noon: Bring and Share Picnic and at 2pm: Village School Reunion
Sunday 2 July at 9am: Holy […]

Posted in St. Peter's Church | Comments Off on Church services for June 2017

Church Services for May 2017

St Peter’s Church, Horningsea
Sunday 7 May at 9am: Holy Communion
Sunday 14 May at 11am: Morning Worship
Thursday 18 May at 7.30pm: Licensing Service for Rev’d Alun Ford
Sunday 21 May at 9am: Holy Communion
Thursday 25 May at 7.30pm: Ascension Day Service at Fen Ditton
Sunday 28 May at 10am: Joint Three Parishes Eucharist at Teversham
(no service in Horningsea)
Sunday […]

Posted in St. Peter's Church | Comments Off on Church Services for May 2017

Church services for April 2017

At St Peter’s Church:
Sunday 2 April at 9am: Holy Communion
Sunday 9 April at 11am: Palm Sunday – Morning worship
Tuesday 11 April around 10.30am: Visit from Student Cross Pilgrims
Friday 14 April from 12 to 2pm: Good Friday – church open for quiet reflection
Sunday 16 April at 9am: Easter Sunday – Holy Communion
Sunday 23 April at 11am: […]

Posted in Horningsea | Comments Off on Church services for April 2017

Church services for March 2017

At St Peter’s Church
Sunday 5 March at 9am: Holy Communion
Sunday 12 March at 11am: Morning worship
Sunday 19 March at 9am: Holy Communion
Sunday 26 March at 11am: Mothering Sunday – Family Service

Posted in St. Peter's Church | Comments Off on Church services for March 2017

Church services for January 2017

St Peter’s Church, Horningsea
Services for January 2017
Sunday 8 January at 11am: Morning Worship
Sunday 15 January at 9am: Holy Communion
Sunday 22 January at 11am: Morning Worship
Sunday 29 January at 10am: Joint Three Parishes Communion at Teversham
(no service in Horningsea)
Sunday 5 February at 9am: Holy Communion
Sunday 12 February at 11am: Morning Worship
Sunday 19 February at 9am: Holy […]

Posted in St. Peter's Church | Comments Off on Church services for January 2017

Church services for December 2016

St Peter’s Church Horningsea
Services for December 2016
Sunday 11 December at 6pm: Candlelit Carol Service – arrive early!
Sunday 18 December –
at 9am: Holy Communion
at 11am: Nativity with games, songs and prayers, followed by lunch
at 11.30am: Bring and share lunch – all welcome
Sunday 25 December at 9.30am: Christmas Day Communion with Carols
Sunday 1 January 2017 at 9am: […]

Posted in Horningsea | Comments Off on Church services for December 2016

Remembrance Sunday 13 November 2016

Remembrance Sunday in Horningsea 13 November: 10.15 in Church and 10.45 at the war Memorial in the Jubilee Gardens
This is always a very special service as the community gathers together to remember those who gave their lives in the First and Second World Wars and in all the subsequent conflicts.
After a short service in the […]

Posted in Horningsea | Comments Off on Remembrance Sunday 13 November 2016

Report on September’s Heritage Open Day

Heritage Open Day in St Peter’s Church – September 2016
The two themes were Horningsea in Shakespeare’s Day and Horningsea in 1766. A map of the village identified the houses that would have been standing in both those years. Visitors were surprised to see how old some of the houses were – we know that St […]

Posted in Horningsea | Comments Off on Report on September’s Heritage Open Day