Author Archives: Cathy

Quy Fen plant walk Tues 29 August at 6.30pm

[ August 29, 2017; 6:30 pm to 8:30 pm. ] Join Fenland botanist Jonathan Graham and Pete Case from Freshwater Habitats Trust to learn more about why Quy Fen is such a special site for wetland plants.

Meet at Horningsea-Clayhithe road layby (just north of the village of Horningsea) postcode CB25 9JD at 6:30pm for a guided walk around the site lasting approx. 2 hrs.

All welcome

Posted in Environment, Events, Horningsea | Leave a comment

Madrigals on the river – Sunday 20 August at 6.15pm

[ August 20, 2017; 6:15 pm to 8:15 pm. ] “Madrigals on the River with Fen Edge Voices”

In the garden by the river of Church End House, Horningsea.

Bring your picnics and chairs!

All welcome.

Posted in Community, Events, Music, Social, Village | Leave a comment

Church services for August & September 2017

At St Peter’s church, Horningsea:
Sunday 6th August at 9am: Holy Communion
Sunday 13th August at 11am: Morning Worship
Sunday 20th August at 9am: Holy Communion
Sunday 27th August at 10am: Holy Communion at Teversham (no service in Horningsea)
Sunday 3rd September at 9am: Holy Communion
Sunday 10th September at 10am: Fen Ditton 800 – Service of Celebration with the Bishop […]

Posted in St. Peter's Church | Leave a comment

Church services for July 2017

At St Peter’s Church, Horningsea
Sunday 2 July at 9am: Holy Communion
Sunday 9 July at 11am: Morning Worship
Sunday 16 July at 9am: Holy Communion
Sunday 23 July at 10am: Art & Christianity Service, led by Canon Prof Ben Quash (Kings College London)
Sunday 30 July at 10am: Holy Communion at Fen Ditton (no service in Horningsea)
Sunday 6 August […]

Posted in St. Peter's Church | Comments Off on Church services for July 2017

Friends of Horningsea Church – Report on the AGM

The Friends’ Annual General Meeting was held in the church on 11 June 2017.
John Rooke continues as Chairman and Michael Harrison as Treasurer for another year. The Friends are looking for a couple more volunteers! Would you be able to take on the task of Secretary? This is not onerous as the Friends only have […]

Posted in St. Peter's Church | Comments Off on Friends of Horningsea Church – Report on the AGM

Village School Reunion Sunday 25 June

At St Peter’s church, Horningsea
Horningsea Village School Reunion 2-5pm
If you went to Horningsea School, or just grew up in Horningsea, or had family who did, come and meet up with old friends.
Just fancy a cup of tea and a chat? Just turn up! Allcomers welcome.
Teas served all afternoon.
Event coordinator: Dinah Asplin (nee Bell)

Posted in Community, Horningsea, Social, St. Peter's Church, Village | Comments Off on Village School Reunion Sunday 25 June

Friends of the Church AGM Sunday 11 June

In St Peter’s church, Horningsea
Sunday 11 June at 12 noon
If you love this ancient and beautiful building, please come along to look at how the Friends can support the church with activities and fundraising.

Posted in St. Peter's Church | Comments Off on Friends of the Church AGM Sunday 11 June

Church services for June 2017

At St Peter’s church, Horningsea
Sunday 4 June at 9am: Holy Communion
Sunday 11 June at 11am: Morning Worship
Sunday 18 June at 9am: Holy Communion
Sunday 25 June at 10am: Holy Communion (Joint 3 parishes service) followed by –                               at 12 noon: Bring and Share Picnic and at 2pm: Village School Reunion
Sunday 2 July at 9am: Holy […]

Posted in St. Peter's Church | Comments Off on Church services for June 2017

Church Services for May 2017

St Peter’s Church, Horningsea
Sunday 7 May at 9am: Holy Communion
Sunday 14 May at 11am: Morning Worship
Thursday 18 May at 7.30pm: Licensing Service for Rev’d Alun Ford
Sunday 21 May at 9am: Holy Communion
Thursday 25 May at 7.30pm: Ascension Day Service at Fen Ditton
Sunday 28 May at 10am: Joint Three Parishes Eucharist at Teversham
(no service in Horningsea)
Sunday […]

Posted in St. Peter's Church | Comments Off on Church Services for May 2017

Church services for April 2017

At St Peter’s Church:
Sunday 2 April at 9am: Holy Communion
Sunday 9 April at 11am: Palm Sunday – Morning worship
Tuesday 11 April around 10.30am: Visit from Student Cross Pilgrims
Friday 14 April from 12 to 2pm: Good Friday – church open for quiet reflection
Sunday 16 April at 9am: Easter Sunday – Holy Communion
Sunday 23 April at 11am: […]

Posted in Horningsea | Comments Off on Church services for April 2017